Follow Moray Council

Independent candidate elected in by-election

Press release   •   Oct 02, 2015 13:04 BST

Voters in Moray’s elected Independent councillor Dennis Slater in today’s by-election in the multi-member Heldon and Laich ward.

The seat became vacant following the resignation of Eric McGillivray, also an Independent.

Until his resignation the council was run by an Independent/Conservative coalition administration comprising ten Independents and two Conservatives. The SNP opposition currently holds 11 seats. There are two Labour and one non-aligned Conservative.

Votes counted were as follows:

Pete Bloomfield (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) 725

James MacKessack-Leitch (Scottish Greens) 192

Joyce O’Hara (SNP) 1100

Dennis Slater (Independent) 1775

Note: Downloadable picture at resources section below

Moray Council area stretches from Tomintoul in the south to the shores of the Moray Firth, from Keith in the east to Forres in the west. The council and its 4,500 employees respond to the needs of 92,500 residents in this beautiful part of Scotland, which nestles between Aberdeenshire and the Highlands.

Famous for its colony of dolphins, fabulous beaches and more malt whisky distilleries than any where else in Scotland, Moray is a thriving area and a great place to live.

Headquartered in  Elgin, the administrative capital of Moray.