Follow Moray Council

Heldon and Laich by-election line-up

Press release   •   Aug 31, 2015 16:08 BST

Four candidates will contest the upcoming by-election in Moray Council’s Heldon and Laich ward.

Nominations closed at 4pm today and those who have put their names forward are Pete Bloomfield (Scottish Conservative and Unionist), James MacKessack-Leitch (Scottish Greens), Joyce O’Hara (SNP) and Dennis Slater (Independent).

The by-election follows the resignation last month of Independent councillor Eric McGillivray.

It will be held on October 1, with the count taking place the following day at Lossiemouth Town Hall.

Moray Council area stretches from Tomintoul in the south to the shores of the Moray Firth, from Keith in the east to Forres in the west. The council and its 4,500 employees respond to the needs of 92,500 residents in this beautiful part of Scotland, which nestles between Aberdeenshire and the Highlands.

Famous for its colony of dolphins, fabulous beaches and more malt whisky distilleries than any where else in Scotland, Moray is a thriving area and a great place to live.

Headquartered in  Elgin, the administrative capital of Moray.